Scroll to content

Interactive Bar



St Mildred's Primary Infant School

St Mildred’s Primary Infant School

EYFS Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage


Children in the Foundation Stage follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.


This is from birth to five, so if your child has been at pre-school you will be familiar with it.


The EYFS ensures that children learn new skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development


There are 3 prime areas which are:


Communication and Language


Physical Development


Personal, social and emotional development


The prime areas help children to develop skills in4 specific areas.


These are:









Understanding the world



Expressive arts and design


The 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The teachers and teaching assistants make sure the activities are suited to each child’s needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and out. We sustain high standards of achievement through careful planning, continuous assessment and tracking of children’s learning. This ongoing process enables us to build a picture of all aspects of each child's development.

Dream Big – Aim High – Make a Difference