Home Page

Year R



Early Years Foundation Stage


Children in the Foundation Stage follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.


This is from birth to five, so if your child has been at pre-school you will be familiar with it.


The EYFS ensures that children learn new skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development


There are 3 prime areas which are:


Communication and Language


Physical Development


Personal, social and emotional development


The prime areas help children to develop skills in4 specific areas.


These are:









Understanding the world



Expressive arts and design


The 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The teachers and teaching assistants make sure the activities are suited to each child’s needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and out. We sustain high standards of achievement through careful planning, continuous assessment and tracking of children’s learning. This ongoing process enables us to build a picture of all aspects of each child's development.



At St. Mildred’s Infant School we teach the Department of Education’s Phonics Scheme 

‘Letters and Sounds.’

The children have daily phonic sessions which are taught in the following sequence;


Revisit and Revise















Letters and Sounds is a fun and fast paced way to teach children how to read, spell and write!


We run Parent Workshops at the beginning of each academic year to enable them to support their child at home.


Some children may need additional support with Phonics, so we also use Jolly Phonics and Soundswrite as an Intervention Programme.